clear clear clear clear clear
   Scoops & News

Apsara Awards for TV shows and films

By Viral Bhayani, IANS

Send to Friend
Another Bollywood awards ceremony is in the offing, with the main contenders being "Koi Mil Gaya" and "Kal Ho Na Ho".

The Apsara Awards are being introduced this year by the Producers Guild of India. The nominations were announced at a function in Mumbai Thursday.

Though it did not see a big star turnout, among those spotted were Jeetendra, Satish Kaushik, Vashu Bhagnani, Rakesh Roshan, Amrish Puri, Dheeraj Kumar, Ramanand Sagar, Ramesh Sippy, Yash Chopra and Subhash Ghai.

Pakistani actress Reema was the cynosure of all eyes.

Since the awards will honour the best in both films and TV, it made sense to have hosts from both the mediums. Udita Goswami and Mohnish Behl announced nominees for the TV awards followed by those for cinema.

While Ajay Devgan, Hrithik Roshan and Shah Rukh Khan have been nominated in the Best Actor category in films; Urmila Matondkar, Bhumika Chawla and Perizaad Zorabian will vie for the Best Actress award.

In the Best Film category, "Kal Ho..." and "Koi Mil Gaya" will compete with "Gangajaal" and "Baghban".

Global cinema has become increasingly popular in India, and this was demonstrated by the inclusion of the Best Foreign Film category, a first in India, which has Hollywood blockbusters such as "Cold Mountain" competing for top honours.

The 1st Apsara Awards also gave due credit to TV with a total of 12 award categories.

However, there were glitches in the event. The videos were often wrong when the nominations were announced. Usha Uthap and Silk Route gave splendid live performances.

The Apsara Awards are set for a glittering grand finale May 29.

The winners will be chosen by ballots cast by all the 160 members of the Guild and not by a viewers' choice poll.

Members, including Aamir Khan, Shyam Benegal, Amitabh Bachchan, Ashutosh Gowarikar and Kamal Barjatya, will be participating in the voting process.

A total of 36 categories, including 23 from cinema and 13 from television (both fiction and non-fiction), will be honoured at the grand finale.


 More on Glamsham

- Diwali surprise! Salman Khan-Katrina Kaif's TIGER ZINDA HAI first poster is out - News
- Sushant Singh Rajput all smiles as he poses with Shah Rukh Khan! - News
- Secret Superstar - Movie Review
- Babe Of The Day - Picture Gallery
- DANGAL cast had a reunion at the special screening of SECRET SUPERSTAR - News
- Deepika Padukone voted 'Sexiest Woman Alive' 2nd year in a row! - News
- Exclusive: Sanjay Dutt's Diwali gets friendlier - News
- In Pics: Deepika Padukone launches Hema Malini's biography 'Beyond the Dream Girl' - News
- Jackky Bhagnani makes Falooda and its mouth watering - News
- Priyanka Chopra slays with VARIETY of women! - News
- Revealed: Rishi Kapoor's look from Anubhav Sinha's MULQ - News
- Sushant Singh Rajput's latest pic will brighten up your Diwali! - News
- This Diwali biographical drama LION starring Dev Patel to premiere on & Prive - News
- Virat & Anushka are lost in each other's eyes and we are smitten by them - News
- We have found Zaira Wasim's true 'love' and no it's not about boys! - News

   News Archives