clear clear clear clear clear
   Scoops & News

Indian Ocean to give away their new album Khajoor Road for free

July 17, 2010 11:52:44 AM IST
Bollywood Trade News Network
Send to Friend



A set of words and sounds put together in a rhythm can form a tune. May be a decent, hummable, melodious one. But it will still be far from becoming music. For it to turn into one it needs to be infused with a soul. Of the musician. It is an expression, of the self, of experiences, of life. This philosophy towards this art rings true for Indian Ocean. Their music is original, uniquely itself, a fusion of multiple elements. Passionate, honest, unapologetic, untainted by the exotic. At home, in the world. Just like their creators - Indian Ocean. For over two decades they have been enthralling us with their unique sounds and music, Indian in its roots, western rock in sound, with several other influences blended in.

The legendary band is now ready to release their new album 16/330 Khajoor Road from 25th July. In keeping with their ground-breaking tradition, the band plans to give away all seven songs of the album free of cost in the form of mp3 downloads from their website, one song a month over the next seven months. Listeners will have to just log on to the website, register, and will get an e-mailed code that shall let them download the song.

The album is named after their jam-pad in Delhi's Karol Bagh, 16/330 Khajoor Road, where the band has rehearsed and composed since 1997, producing Kandisa, Jhini and Black Friday. The place appears to have some Karmic connection with music. Before partition, the Pakistani poet Faiz Ahmed Faiz also used to live in the same house. The new album is a tribute to the almost spiritual energy of the house that has allowed the band to grow unfettered. The album also comprises almost all the last few songs in which the bands former percussionist and vocalist, Asheem Chakravarty, participated in composing, performing and recording. Asheem sadly passed away on December 25, 2009, but the plan to release the album had been formulated with his full knowledge and consent last summer. It is only now that it becomes a tribute of sorts.

The songs are vintage Indian Ocean, with a few surprises thrown in. The classic line-up of the band comprising Susmit Sen, Asheem Chakravarty, Rahul Ram and Amit Kilam has produced songs ranging in mood from the contemplative to the inspirational to the political. The band is planning to tour all over the country with the album over the next few months. Be prepared to enjoy yourself!


More related news

- Kareena and baby Taimur meet fans in Swiss Alps! - News
- Kareena Kapoor Khan's gym look is eyed by sports brand! - News
- Saif & Kareena's baby Taimur is all smiles as they vacay in Switzerland - News
- What Kareena has to say about Sara Ali Khan's debut in Bollywood? - News
- How Kareena's 'Talaash' for the name Taimur was ended by Nawaz! - News
- Kareena Kapoor Khan finds her boyfriend - News
- Kareena Kapoor Khan & Shahid Kapoor sweat it out with their BFFs! - News
- Lisa Haydon does this better than Kareena Kapoor Khan! - News
- Malaika, Jacqueline, Neetu, Kareena and other celebs snapped at different events - News
- Kareena, Alia, Evelyn and other celebs snapped at various events - News
- Sensual Kareena Kapoor Khan sizzles in backless dress - News
- Kareena Kapoor gives a fitting reply to Mira Rajput's puppy remark - News
- Kareena Kapoor Khan turns fashion guru! - News
- Kareena Kapoor Khan redefines fashion for new mothers - News
- Baby Taimur is the happiest when in mommy Kareena's arms - News


A Fifth Quarter Infomedia Pvt. Ltd. site.