clear clear
clear clear clear clear clear
   Scoops & News

Shekhar Kapur to head Venice Film Festival jury for debut film award 'The lion of the Future'

July 23, 2012 12:35:36 PM IST
By Rajesh Kumar Singh, Glamsham Editorial
Send to Friend

The Board of Directors of the Venice Biennale chaired by Paolo Baratta, upon the recommendation of the Director of the Venice Film Festival Alberto Barbera, has announced the International Jury of the Lion of the Future - "Luigi De Laurentiis" Venice Award for a Debut Film along with the 100,000 USD offered by Aurelio and Luigi De Laurentiis' Filmauro. The award will be given away at the 69th Venice International Film Festival that starts on 29 August 2012. The jury will be headed by well-known Indian film director and producer Shekhar Kapur.

The international Jury of the "Luigi De Laurentiis" Venice Award will select the winner among all the debut feature-length films in the various competitive sections of the Venice Film Festival (Official Selection and Independent Parallel Sections). The award will be divided equally between the director and the producer.

Other celebrated names in the jury include French-Greek film critic and historian Michel Demopoulos, Director of the Salonicco Film Festival for 14 years (1991-2005), Italian actress Isabella Ferrari, who was awarded the Volpi Cup at the Venice Film Festival in 1995, in the Ettore Scola film Romanzo di un giovane povero, American film writer and director Matt Reeves, one of the innovators in the world of American TV series, co-creator of the popular U.S. television series FELICITY, director of CLOVERFIELD (2007) and LET ME IN (2010), and French DJ and record producer Bob Sinclair, a key figure in the world of house and techno music, Star of Clubs around the globe.

(Rajesh Kumar Singh is Editorial Consultant for Festivals and Markets for He is a filmmaker, critic and market analyst)


 More on Glamsham

- 5 incredibly cute snaps of AbRam Khan that'll make your day! - News
- Bollywood Box Office Report Of The Week - News
- Evelyn Sharma in 5 never-seen-before avatars at ISHQEDARRIYAAN promotions - News
- Lata Mangeshkar protested for which music director when he was declined Filmfare award? - News
- Aamir Khan and Ranbir Kapoor snapped at a subarban theatre - Picture Gallery
- Amitabh, Abhishek, John, Ranbir, Sachin & others at a garden launch event - Part 1 - Picture Gallery
- Amitabh, Abhishek, John, Ranbir, Sachin & others at a garden launch event - Part 2 - Picture Gallery
- Babe Of The Day - Picture Gallery
- Babes Kangana, Swara, Raveena, Tanishaa, Sophie & others at TANU WEDS MANU RETURNS success bash - Picture Gallery
- Celina Jaitley, Anubhav Sinha at 6th Kashish Film Festival opening night - Picture Gallery
- Emraan Hashmi, Vidya Balan, Rajkummar Rao promote HAMARI ADHURI KAHANI - Picture Gallery
- Ranveer, Priyanka, Anil, Shefali snapped at Mehboob studio - Picture Gallery
- Salman Khan's fans watches BAJRANGI BHAIJAAN teaser with director Kabir Khan - Picture Gallery
- Shahid, R.Madhavan, Sushant, Rajkummar, Dhanush & others at TANU WEDS MANU RETURNS success party - Picture Gallery
- Sonu Nigam and Talat Aziz celebrate 75 episodes of a radio show - Picture Gallery

   News Archives


Movie Reviews
  Hot Gallery
Babe Of The Day
Babe Of The Day
Super-cute photos from Arpita Khan's 2nd Wedding Reception
Super-cute photos from Arpita Khan's 2nd Wedding Reception
Red hot below the belt
Red hot below the belt
Priyanka Chopra's ultra-glamorous photos!
Priyanka Chopra's ultra-glamorous photos!


Mahie Gill Isha Koppikar Sidharth Malhotra Shruti Haasan Pallavi Sharda Kajal Agarwal Riteish Deshmukh Marisa Verma Tiger Shroff Akshara Hassan Kashmera Shah Suzanna Mukherjee Rachana Parulkar Ali Fazal Ajay Devgn Complete List

A Fifth Quarter Infomedia Pvt. Ltd. site.