- Advertisement -

Alia Bhatt expresses gratitude on receiving Smita Patil Memorial Award

Alia Bhatt, who is currently enjoying the response to her recently released fantasy adventure film 'Brahmastra'.

Alia Bhatt bags the late Smita Patil memorial award and wishes have been pouring ever since. Amongst the pile of congratulatory messages, the most special one has come across from the ‘Chhichhore’ film actor Prateik Babbar, son of the late Smita Patil.

Prateik Babbar, who will soon be seen in Four More Shots Please Season 3, says, “Congratulations to Alia Bhatt. Absolutely well deserved. There is no one more deserving than her. Alia bhatt in our generation of hindi cinema is what my mother was in her generation, uncomparable.”

Veteran Smita Patil brought a whole new meaning to Indian cinema back in her time. While actors find it difficult to fit into a bracket of choosing the right scripts, Smita Patil was the epitome of doing both experimental and conventional films. Her contribution to Indian Cinema has been immense.

Alia Bhatt’s father Mahesh Bhatt has also once said about the similarities that Alia carries. He also mentioned how Alia had the potential to follow the path of Smita Patil who excelled both in commercial and experimental movies.

Prateik too, comments on the similarities between the two actresses, “Alia Bhatt and my mother have always been true to their art. Their choice of scripts and playing it to perfection has always been top-notch. Also, Alia is known for breaking stereotypes and portraying strong characters on screen. She actually gets into the skin of the character! I have been a big admirer of her work.”

Alia Bhatt, who is currently enjoying the response to her recently released fantasy adventure film ‘Brahmastra’ as it becomes the highest grossing Hindi film of 2022, has been feted with the Smita Patil Memorial Award.

The actress took to the story section of her Instagram to share the news with her followers. Sharing the certificate of the honour, she wrote on the picture: “Grateful and honoured to receive the Smita Patil Memorial Award. Thank You to everyone (heart emoji).”

Established in 1986 by the Priyadarshni Academy in memory of actress Smita Patil, the Smita Patil Memorial Award is awarded to an Indian actress for her contribution to Indian cinema in the period prior to the ceremony, irrespective of a particular performance. Till 1994, the award was conferred every year to the actresses. However, since 1994 the committee has been conferring the honour upon the actresses once every two years.

In the past, actresses like Madhuri Dixit, Sridevi, Tabu, Manisha Koirala, Urmila Matondkar and Kareena Kapoor Khan have been honoured with the award. The award committee drew flak in 2016 when it feted Bollywood star Katrina Kaif with the award as certain sections of media and general populace felt that the actress was undeserving of the honour.

Taapsee Pannu was the last actress to be feted with the honour before Alia back in 2020.


Himanshi Khurana

Kajal Aggarwal

Harnaaz Kaur Sandhu

Hina Khan

- Advertisment -

Related Posts

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -