Farhan Akhtar’s BHAAG MILKHA BHAAG wins top honours at 15th IIFA 2014


The 15th IIFA Awards surpassed expectations with a spectacular show that saw the film BHAAG MILKHA BHAAG nab the top Awards of the night including Best Picture, Best Direction, Performance in Leading Role (Male), Performance in a Supporting Role (Female) and Best Story. AASHIQUI 2 bagged awards for Music Direction, Lyrics, Playback Singer (Male) and Playback Singer (Female). Deepika Padukone won the Award for her much acclaimed role in CHENNAI EXPRESS while Farhan Akhtar won for his role in BHAAG MILKHA BHAAG.

On having won the Performance in a Leading Role (Female), Deepika Padukone said, '2013 was an amazing year for me. I left home with a suitcase and a dream and I thank my parents for allowing me to follow my dream.''

Farhan Akhtar on winning the award for Performance in a Leading Role (Male) said, ''This is a very special moment as it is the first time I'm receiving an award for the film in the presence of Milkha Singh. He shared a lot of amazing stories with me and was the wind beneath my wings. I am very honoured today.''


John Travolta was felicitated with an award for Outstanding Contribution to International Cinema. He accepted the award saying ''I am honoured and humbled to be put in this category. I believe that as human being we are alike and this is a medium to celebrate our similarities. A heartfelt thank you to IIFA and the Indian film community.''

Debutants, Vaani Kapoor (Shudh Desi Romance) and Dhanush (Raanjhanaa) took to the IIFA stage to collect their accolades for the most promising new faces in Indian Cinema.

Here's the complete list of IIFA 2014 Awards Winners' List


Best Performance in a Leading role (Male) Award: Farhan Akhtar for BHAAG MILKA BHAAG

Best Performance in a Leading Role (Female) Award: Deepika Padukone for CHENNAI EXPRESS

Best Picture Award: Viacom 18 Motion Pictures & Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra for BHAAG MILKA BHAAG


Best Direction Award: Rakeysh Om Mehra for BHAAG MILKHA BHAAG.

Best Story Award: Prasoon Joshi for BHAAG MILKHA BHAAG

Best Debutant (Male) Award: Dhanush for RAANJHANAA

Best Debutant Female: Vani Kapoor for SHUDH DESI ROMANCE

Best Performance in a Supporting role (Male) Award: Aditya Roy Kapoor for YEH JAWAANI HAI DEEWANI

Best Performance in a Supporting role (Female) Award: Divya Dutta for BHAAG MIKHA BHAAG

Best Music Direction Award: Mithoon, Ankit Tiwari, Jeet Ganguly for AASHIQUI 2

Best Lyric Writer: Mithoon for 'Tum Hi Ho' from AASHIQUI 2

Best Male Playback Singer Award: Arijit Singh for 'Tum Hi Ho' from AASHIQUI 2

Best Female Playback Singer Award: Shreya Goshal for 'Sun Raha Hai Na Tu' from AASHIQUI 2

Best Performance in a Comic Role Award:Arshad Warsi for JOLLY LLB

Best Performance in Negative role Award: Rishi Kapoor for D DAY

Lifetime Achievement Award 2014: Shatrughan Sinha

Best Entertainer of the Year: Deepika Padukone

Outstanding Contribution by An Indian in the US: Drs. Kiran & Pallavi Patel

Outstanding Contribution To International Cinema: John Travolta