Rajkummar Rao bags National Award for Best Actor, JOLLY LLB wins Best Hindi Film


The 61st National Awards have been announced and Bollywood actor Rajkummar Rao, who received critical acclaim for his role of a Kashmiri lawyer in SHAHID, won the National Award for Best Actor. SHAHID director Hansal Mehta won the best director, while JOLLY LLB bagged an award for Best Hindi Film.

Rakeysh OmPrakash Mehra's BHAAG MILKHA BHAAG bagged the award for Best Popular Film providing Wholesome Entertainment. On the technical side, JAL won the prize for Best Special Effects and MADRAS CAFE for Best Sound Design. Riteish Deshmukh's YELLOW was conferred with a Special Jury Award.

Choreographer Ganesh Acharya won a National Award for the song 'Maston Ka Jhund' from BHAAG MILKHA BHAAG, while actor Saurabh Shukla bagged the National Award for Best Supporting actor (Male) for JOLLY LLB.


The National Film Awards will be given out on May 3.

Here's the complete list of winners of 61st National Film Awards for the year 2013: 

Best Actor (Male) to Rajkummar Rao for SHAHID 
Best Director to Hansal Mehta for SHAHID 
Best Hindi film – JOLLY LLB 
Best Supporting Actor Saurabh Shukla for JOLLY LLB 
BHAAG MILKHA BHAAG wins Most Popular Film providing Wholesome Entertainment 
Best Non Feature film RANG BHOOMI by Kamal Swaroop 
Best film on social issues – GULABI GANG 
Best Makeup – Bengali film JAATISHWAR 
Best Screenplay Original – Kannada film DECEMBER 1 
Best director award goes to Pranjal Dua for his short film CHIDIYA UDH 
Best Playback Singer Male to Rupankar for Bengali film JATISHWAR. 
Special Jury Award – YELLOW 
Ganesh Acharya wins Best Choreography for 'Maston Ka Jhund' for BHAAG MILKHA BHAAG
Best Malayalam Film goes to NORTH 24 KAADHAM.
Best Kannada Film Goes to DECEMBER 1
Best Bengali Film goes to BAKITA BYAKTIGATO.
Best Film on Social Issues: TUHYA DHARMA KONCHA (Marathi)
Best Children's Film goes to KAPHAL
Best Non Feature Film on Social Issues: GULABI GANG
Indira Gandhi Award For Best Debut Film Of A Director: Nagraaj Manjule for FANDRY
Best Feature Film goes to Anand Gandhi's SHIP OF THESEUS
Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film on National Integration: THALAIMURAIGAL (Tamil).
Best Film on Social Issues: TUHYA DHARMA KONCHA (Marathi) at National Film Awards
Best Supporting Actress Award is d by Amruta Subhash for ASTU and Alia El Kashif for SHIP OF THESEUS.
Best Playback Singer Male goes to Rupankar for Bengali film JATISHWAR.
Bela Shinde has won Best Female Singer award for popular Marathi song 'Koda Koda'.
Best Dialogue goes to Marathi film ASTU.
Best Sound Design goes to MADRAS CAFE.
Yellow and MISS LOVELY have bagged the Special Jury Award.
National Awards Bengali Film is bagged by Jatishwar for its soulful music.
National Awards Best English Film goes to THE COFFINMAKER
Special Jury mention for Anjali Patil, child actor Chandana Roy.
National Awards Best Film on Social issues goes to GULABI GANG
National Awards Best Non Feature Film- Kamal Swaroop for RANGBHOOMI