Apsara Awards for TV shows and films

Another Bollywood awards ceremony is in the offing, with the main contenders being "Koi Mil Gaya" and "Kal Ho Na Ho".

The Apsara Awards are being introduced this year by the Producers Guild of India. The nominations were announced at a function in Mumbai Thursday.

Though it did not see a big star turnout, among those spotted were Jeetendra, Satish Kaushik, Vashu Bhagnani, Rakesh Roshan, Amrish Puri, Dheeraj Kumar, Ramanand Sagar, Ramesh Sippy, Yash Chopra and Subhash Ghai.

Pakistani actress Reema was the cynosure of all eyes.

Since the awards will honour the best in both films and TV, it made sense to have hosts from both the mediums. Udita Goswami and Mohnish Behl announced nominees for the TV awards followed by those for cinema.

While Ajay Devgan, Hrithik Roshan and Shah Rukh Khan have been nominated in the Best Actor category in films; Urmila Matondkar, Bhumika Chawla and Perizaad Zorabian will vie for the Best Actress award.

In the Best Film category, "Kal Ho..." and "Koi Mil Gaya" will compete with "Gangajaal" and "Baghban".

Global cinema has become increasingly popular in India, and this was demonstrated by the inclusion of the Best Foreign Film category, a first in India, which has Hollywood blockbusters such as "Cold Mountain" competing for top honours.

The 1st Apsara Awards also gave due credit to TV with a total of 12 award categories.

However, there were glitches in the event. The videos were often wrong when the nominations were announced. Usha Uthap and Silk Route gave splendid live performances.

The Apsara Awards are set for a glittering grand finale May 29.

The winners will be chosen by ballots cast by all the 160 members of the Guild and not by a viewers' choice poll.

Members, including Aamir Khan, Shyam Benegal, Amitabh Bachchan, Ashutosh Gowarikar and Kamal Barjatya, will be participating in the voting process.

A total of 36 categories, including 23 from cinema and 13 from television (both fiction and non-fiction), will be honoured at the grand finale.