Bollywood studded MTV Immies,

Lata Mangeshkar rules! The nightingale of India was awarded the Inspiration award at the MTV IMMIES, held at the Goregaon Sports Club, Mumbai on December 12th, 2003. A full house of 5000 people grooved to high voltage music, which was spiced with electrifying performances by Indian and international artists. MTV India's first MTV IMMIES (Indian Music Excellence Awards), presented by AirTel and exclusively supported by IMI premiers on MTV and Sony Entertainment Television on Sunday, 14 December at 9.00 p.m. with repeats on MTV on Monday, 15 December at 3.30 p.m. and on Saturday, 20 December at 6.00 p.m.

The MTV IMMIES honored artistes in 24 categories across all genres of music - from film to spiritual music; indipop to devotional; ghazal to international music including one for piracy detection (list of winners attached). Truly the biggest celebration of music in the country, the MTV IMMIES had Bollywood stars like Preity Zinta, Jackie Shroff, Fardeen Khan, Karan Johar, Kajol, Dino Morea, Sunidhi Chauhan, Diya Mirza, A.R. Rahman, Abhishek Bachchan, Anu Malik, Ramesh Sippy, Sonali Bendre, Gulshan Grover and Pooja Batra presenting the MTV IMMIES Awards at the delightful show.

Westlife, Outlandish, Safri Duo, Punjabi MC, Rishi Rich Project, Junoon, Euphoria, Salman Khan, Isha Koppikar, Yana Gupta, Amrita Arora, Falguni Pathak and Bombay Vikings got the crowd grooving with their high-energy performance! It was star power at it's best! One which was spiced with the comic banter between show presenters -Bollywood heartthrob Saif Ali Khan and MTV's 'Bakra' Cyrus Broacha - and had the crowd in splits!


Best Performance in a song - Male
Shah Rukh Khan - Chalte Chalte

Best Performance in a song - Female
Yana Gupta - Dum

AirTel Immie for Best Composer
A R Rahman - Saathiya

Best Lyrics
Gulzar - Saathiya

Best Singer - Male
Sonu Nigam - Saathiya

Best Singer - Female
Chitra - Koi... Mil Gaya

Best Album
Kal Ho Naa Ho - Karan Johar / Yash Johar

Best Choreography
Farah Khan - Koi... Mil Gaya

Best New Film Music Talent - Male / Female
Sonu Kakkar - Dum


Best Male Pop Act - Solo / Duo / Group
Adnan Sami - Tera Chehra

Best Female Pop Act - Solo / Duo / Group
Falguni Pathak - Yeh Kya Jadoo Kiya

Best Pop Album
Tera Chehra

Best Video
Bela Segal - Tera Chehra

Best New Non-film Talent - Male / Female
Babul Supriyo - Soochta Hun

Best Remix Video / Song
Kaanta Laga - Harry Anand / Rao & Sapru Films


Best Male Pop Act - Solo / Duo / Group

Best Female Pop Act - Solo / Duo / Group
Norah Jones

Best Debut
Norah Jones

Inspiration / Special Award
Lata Mangeshkar


Best Ghazal Album
Pankaj Udhas - Yaaron Mujhe

Best Devotional / Spiritual Album
Jagjit Singh - Hari Om Tat Sat

Best Classical / Classical Fusion Album - Vocal
Pt. Bhimsen Joshi - Tum Kaheko Neha Lagaye

Best Classical / Classical Fusion Album - Instrumental
Rahul Sharma - Psychadelia

Best Detection IMI Team for the Year 2003
Ram Kripal Singh - DSP (Retd) and Bindeshwari Singh - Sr. Inspector (Retd)