Bareilly Ki Barfi Music Review

Bareilly Ki Barfi Movie Poster
Bareilly Ki Barfi Movie Poster
Rafat Sami By Rafat Sami | 18 Mar 2017 15:44:26.9800000 IST

Expectations from Junglee Pictures and BR Studios BAREILLY KI BARFI are quite high since the film stars Ayushmann Khurrana, who has always been a part of movies with good melodious music. And when the composer is Tanishk Bhagchi and Arko Pravo Mukerjee, who have delivered some chartbusting scores in the past, we know that we are on track.

The totally desi party song that is surely to rule the wedding season is 'Sweety Tera Drama'. Sung with utmost zeal and enthu by Pawni Pandey, Shraddha Pandit, Dev Negi and Pravesh Mallick (sings and writes the rap portions) it is a chartbuster alright! It may remind one of item/ dance number from BADRINATH KI DULHANIA (the title track), but that is because both the films have North India as their backdrop with folksy tracks. The Tanishk-Vayu composed song has Shabbir Ahmed penning the lyrics. The Hindustani music addendums like 'Dholak, Sarangi, Harmonium and Banjo add to the desi charm.

Arko regales and charms with an all-round performance (singing, writing and composing) via his haunting love ditty, 'Nazm Nazm', a lovely melodious outing that is bound to appeal to die hard romantics. Crisps guitar and lovely soft percussions lend a lovely soothing touch. However, it has a strong resemblance to Atif Aslam's chartbusting, 'Main Rang Sharbaton Ka' (PHATA POSTER NIKLA HERO), although the rhythm here is a tad slower.

Ayushmaan reprises 'Nazm Nazm', which almost sounds like a new song with added Pnjabi enhanced lyrics. Really clever on part of the composer to hand over the mike to Ayushmaan whose is mellifluous vocals are a real plus.

Sumedha Karmahe too does well in yet another version of 'Nazm Nazm' and this is more of an unplugged kind. And we don't mind three versions of a lovely number!

Carrying on in the same desi party mode is 'Twist Kamariya', which is another potential chartbuster fun filled item/ dance number, rendered by Harshdeep Kaur, Yasser Desai, Altamash Faridi and Tanishk. In fact this number is much more entertaining than 'Sweety Tera Drama'. The hook-line, 'twist kamariya' does hook! Tanishk-Vayu pens the fun lyrics.

Arijit gets to render the soulful, soft rock fusion number, 'Bairagi', which has a lovely fresh tune, superb rock arrangements and nice background chorals. Samira Koppikar composes and also lends nice backup support. Puneet Sharma pens novel and apt lyrics that throws light on the characters of main leads and also illustrates the deep love for the beloved.

After providing a good backup support Samira Koppikar reprises 'Bairagi' and she does very well. This version is softer and subtle and not rock based as the original.

Sameer Uddin composed 'Badass Babua' introducing the second male lead (Rajkummar Rao) and on the whole it's an interesting effort , although the song appears to be a fusion of quite a few chartbusting Punjabi numbers like 'Kala Chashma', 'Paisa Paisa' as well as title track of BOSS and Michael Jackson's iconic 'Bad' . Abhishek Nainwal, Neha Bhasin and the composer get together to render a funny, situational song. Lyrics by Akshay Verma are in sync with the script keeping in mind the lead character.

Summing up, the audio of BAREILLY KI BARFI meets expectations and has a nice variety catering to all tastes (mass and class) and is in keeping with the subject. We could have gone with the coveted four star rating, but the problem is that the tunes chosen by composers (excluding 'Bairagi') are not really fresh. However songs like 'Sweety Tera Drama', 'Twist Kamariya' and 'Nazm Nazm' will surely make it to the top. The music will surely attain more popularity after the release of the film this Friday.

Music Review Rating Chart :-
Excellent - 4.5 & above
Very Good - 4
Good - 3.5
Average/Passable - 3
Pathetic - 2.5 & below

Rating 3.5/5

Movie Cast & Crew
  • Director: Ashwiny Iyer Tiwari
  • Actor: Ayushmann Khurrana, Rajkummar Rao and Kriti Sanon
  • Music Director: Tanishk Bagchi -Vayu, Arko Pravo Mukerjee, Samira Koppikar and Sameer Uddin, Tanishk Bagchi, Arko Pravo Mukherjee and Vayu
  • Lyrics: Shabbir Ahmed, Arko, Tanishk Bgachi and Vayu, Puneet Sharma and Akshay Verma, Arko Pravo Mukherjee, Tanishk Bagchi and Vayu
  • Release Date : 18 Aug 2017