clear clear clear clear clear
   Scoops & News

ROAD TO SANGAM wins P7 Audience Choice Award at MFF

November 6, 2009 6:21:39 PM IST
Bollywood Trade News Network
Send to Friend

view ROAD TO SANGAM movie stills

view ROAD TO SANGAM movie stills

At the closing ceremony of the 11th edition of the Mumbai Film Festival, ROAD TO SANGAM got P7 Audience choice Award, presented by Mr. Jyoti Narain to Amit Rai writer and director of the movie. The movie got a prize worth Rs. 10,00,000. 'P7 Audience Choice Awards' was introduced for the first time this year; to give the audience a taste of their choice, audience got to vote for their favourite movie. After more than two lakhs voting across three festival venues-Fun Cinema, Metro Big Cinema, Big Cinema and online voting by viewers. The audiences were given a chance to put forth their preferences.

Speaking about the award Mr. Jyoti Narain, Director, P7 News Channel, said, 'We are glad that people have responded so well to the audience choice award. It's a pleasure to be associated with Mumbai film festival. We have always participated in events that support our vision of 'Good News'. It is always good to get connected with the masses as our channel programming also revolves around the viewers. We will be also presenting the audience choice award in the coming years as it is always good to align with viewers psychic.'

Speaking on the occasion Amit Rai, Director of ROAD TO SANGAM, said 'I am really happy that P7 News Channel has come up with this kind of award, as it helps us to showcase our work and really boosts our confidence to keep making good cinema that viewers appreciate'

The award function was graced by galaxy of stars Preity Zinta, Amitabh Bachchan, Yash Chopra, Prasoon Joshi, Shabana Azmi, Abbas-Mastan, Prem Chopra, Gulshan Grover, Kunal Khemu, Rituparna Sen Gupta, Archana puran Singh & Parmit Sethi, and many more that captivate the audiences. The director Kunal Kohli and actress Shefali Shah were the anchor of evening.

The jury and audience award were selected:

Lifetime Acheivement Award - Amitabh Bachchan

P7 Audience Choice Award: ROAD TO SANGAM

Young Critics Award: WHISPER WITH THE WIND

Best Actress: Paprika Steen for APPLAUS

Best Actor: Edward Hogg for WHITE LIGHTNIN'

Best Director: Adrien Biniez for GIGANNTE


Jury Grand Prize: La Pivellina (The Little One)

Best Director- Andria'n Biniez