Asha Bhosle to receive lifetime achievement award
Asha Bhosle to receive lifetime achievement award
Legendary Indian playback singer Asha Bhosle will be receiving the Life time Achievement
bollywood news, Asha Bhosle, Asha Bhosle receives lifetime achievement award, 11th Dubai International Film Festival, DIFF, singer Asha Bhosle, scoops, articles
clear clear clear clear clear

Asha Bhosle to receive lifetime achievement award

December 9, 2014 2:53:06 PM IST
By Glamsham Editorial
Send to Friend

Legendary Indian playback singer Asha Bhosle will be receiving the 'Life time Achievement Award' at the 11th Dubai International Film Festival (DIFF) for her decades of dedication to Indian cinema and music with over 12,000 songs for 850 films in her singing career spanning seven decades and going on.


Asha Tai is known for her incredible range and versatility, having recorded every style of music from film to folk songs, Indian classical music to pop songs, as well as ghazals and bhajans. She made her acting debut in the 2013 film MAI, at the age of 80, to critical acclaim; and has been awarded numerous accolades. These include being noted as the ‘most recorded artist in music history' by the Guinness Book of World Records, being awarded the Dadasaheb Phalke Award (2000) and the Padma Vibhushan (2008) from the Indian government.
DIFF Chairman Abdulhamid Juma said: ''Asha Bhosle is a stalwart of the Indian music scene, and we are proud to be honoring her with this DIFF Lifetime Achievement Award. Her work has touched almost every corner of the world: we look forward to welcoming such a legend to Dubai and DIFF.''

Asha Bhosle added: ''I am delighted to have been nominated to receive this Lifetime Achievement Award from DIFF in Dubai - a place with long historic ties to my country. I look forward to visiting this special film festival, which has done so much work to promote the art worldwide.''
The Lifetime Achievement Award is dedicated to honoring the world's greatest film industry actors, writers, directors and producers. Previous winners include Martin Sheen, Omar Sharif, Faten Hamamah, Adel Imam, Jameel Rateb, Sabah, Morgan Freeman, Sean Penn, Amitabh Bachchan, Shah Rukh Khan, Daoud Abdel Sayed, Youssef Chahine, Rachid Bouchareb, Souleymane Cisse, Nabil El-Maleh, Oliver Stone, Danny Glover, Terry Gilliam, Yash Chopra, Subhash Ghai, Michael Apted and Mahmoud Abdel Aziz. 


Stay updated with Bollywood on GLAMSHAM.COM's android app.
Click here to INSTALL on your device.





More related news

- It Is Holi and Diwali both for 'Begum' Vidya in Prem Mein Tohre - News
- Radhika Apte has a birthday tribute for Asha Bhosle! - News
- Why Asha Bhosle did not receive her Filmfare award?  - News
- Anupam Kher and Sir Ben Kingsley honoured with The Asian Awards  - News
- Asha Bhosle's retro classic 'Hum Neend..' for SONA SPA! - News
- Asha Bhosle's MAI first look unveiled in Parliament - News
- Asha Bhonsle, Karan Johar, Madhuri Dixit & Kajol, to launch Gautam Rajadhyaksha's book 'Chehre'  - News