Sanjay Gupta's ACID clashes with Karan Johar's SID

Joginder Tuteja, Bollywood Trade News Network
8/1/2009 4:43:00 PM

view ACID FACTORY posters

view ACID FACTORY posters

Even though Karan Johar has booked 2nd October as the D-day for the release of his WAKE UP SID, Sanjay Gupta has taken the brave step of giving him some competition on at the box office. Against Ranbir Kapoor's boy flick, he has decided to unleash his team of macho men (and a femme fatale) in the form of ACID FACTORY.

Originally slated for release on 4th September, ACID FACTORY has now been moved ahead and chosen the long weekend for its arrival. It would be quite an interesting clash at the box office considering the fact that WAKE UP SID is touted to be a quintessential multiplex flick whereas ACID FACTORY is a hardcore action thriller that should find an audience across multiplexes as well as single screens.

CHECK OUT : I don't go by hits alone

Says Suparn Verma who has directed ACID FACTORY, '2nd October suits us the best because now we get two full months to go aggressive on our promotion. The teaser by itself has generated such positive response that it is imperative we go all out in bringing our film to the audiences. I am told that ACID FACTORY would be given a very wide release. Moreover, my producer is extremely happy and positive about the film and that has been reassuring enough.'

With no film currently been slotted for 9th October release considering pre-Diwali weekend isn't considered conducive enough for a new release to arrive, there is nothing much to worry for both WAKE UP SID as well as ACID FACTORY since they have an open fortnight available to them. Moreover, since the two films belong to diverse genres, it should be a win-win situation for both Sanjay Gupta and Karan Johar instead of a declaration of war!

While WAKE UP SID is directed by new find Ayan Mukerji and stars Ranbir Kapoor, Konkona Sen Sharma, Rahul Khanna (in a special appearance) and Rahul Pendkalkar, ACID FACTORY stars Fardeen Khan, Irrfan Khan, Manoj Bajpai, Dino Morea, Aftab Shivdasani and Danny Denzongpa along with Dia Mirza.